Skip to content

The cape, the mask, and the happiest little girl here in the sticks!

June 4, 2013

Good Tuesday everyone! Sorry about yesterday, but we needed a recovery day after our very first two-day weekend with The Husband since we’ve moved back to Texas. If you missed it, part one of this post can be found here.

The Bug loved her cape and mask set. She loves running around as ‘Supergirl’ and she loves the way the cape trails out behind her when she runs. I foresee this cape being worn nearly everyday until it’s in tatters, which is the whole reason for it! The Husband said when it gets too ragged we’ll hang it in our closet to save for her when she’s older; I love that idea!

Anywho, we’re going to pick up where we left off on Friday, with both sides of the cape appliquéd and ready to be finished up!

Make sure and add stitches to your appliqué!

Make sure and add stitches to your appliqué!

*Sew on your appliques. This ensures that they will be tough enough to outlast what your kiddo will put them through!*

After pinning, sew the two sides together, appliquéd sides together.

After pinning, sew the two sides together, appliquéd sides together.

Make sure to iron each side really well and then pin together, appliqued sides facing. And now, sew the two pieces together, around the EDGES. Don’t sew the top closed yet!

You need to flip the sewn pieces inside out so that the appliqued pieces are showing and your stitches are hidden, but first iron the seams you just made very well! Once you’ve ironed, pull the insides out!

After sewing the edges together, make sure and iron really well so that when you pull the appliquéd sides out the edges are crisp!

After sewing the edges together, make sure and iron really well so that when you pull the appliquéd sides out the edges are crisp!

Now quickly sew the collar together. This is simple since it’s just two pattern pieces, wrong sides together. Just make sure to leave the top unsewn. (The pattern has you mark two dots; you leave the space between them unsewn.)

Collar pinned and ready to sew.

Collar pinned and ready to sew.

Now, back to the cape. You’ll want to use a zig-zag stitch to go across the top of the cape now that you’ve pulled the appliqued sides out. Once you’ve sewn the top together, you’ll now sew two rows of basting stitches, leaving long tails so you can gather the fabric.

Use a zig-zag stitch on the top edge and sew two rows of basting stitches.

Use a zig-zag stitch on the top edge and sew two rows of basting stitches.

Now this, for me, is the most frustrating part. It never fails that as I’ve nearly got everything gathered, my thread breaks. To prevent this, I recommend using quilting quality thread, which is tougher and shouldn’t break quite as easily. Needless to say, I did not on this project, which is why I’ve got no pictures of me actually gathering anything! I didn’t manage to get a picture snapped because of the pathetically terrible time I was having!

Now is the nearly final step! 🙂 You’ve gathered the top of the cape to fit in between the ‘dots’ the pattern had you make on the collar, or in other words, the unsewn portion of the collar. You need to pin the cape to one side of the collar (make sure to fold your edges under or the top will look a little messy and unfinished) and you will lay the other side (it will be the ‘top’ to you) down, with edges ‘folded’ and sew. You really only want to do this once. If you sew on both sides you will get two separate sets of stitches (I did, which is why mine looks a little messy. When I do The Muffin’s cape I will get this part right!), which looks a little crazy. So pin and set up several times, sew once!

Finally done!!

Finally done!!

The very last step is attaching the velcro, which I have no useful pictures of, since I purchased velcro with an adhesive backing. Seemed brilliant until I realized you could neither machine or hand sew to reinforce them due to the sticky ickyness of the glue. If you purchase self-adhesive velcro, remember that. I don’t think it will really hold up, so once it falls off I will replace it with two sewn-on squares!

And there you are, a relatively simple superhero cape for your little Superman or Wonderwoman!

If you are following the Fuddie Duddies pattern, you will know that there is a little instruction set on triple layered masks. I tried to follow this part, but the material I bought for appliqués and masks just did not work following these instructions…so I cheated. I used the pattern to cut out a small masks from two different materials (one to match each side of the cape), and then I modge podged them together and let them sit, under the full pressure of all my GRE study books, overnight. The result is pleasing, even if not as cool as the patterns’ masks. So then I punched a hole on each end using some of my husband’s leather working tools, laced through some elastic and hand sewed it to keep it in place, and boom! Sort-of instant superhero mask.

She won't tell you her secret identity, but she will tell you how much she loves graham crackers!

She won’t tell you her secret identity, but she will tell you how much she loves graham crackers!

All-in-all, a really fun project that my daughter enjoys SO much. I plan on making a cape for little Muffin sometime this week, though it probably won’t happen until the weekend due to our busy schedule this week. I hope this has inspired someone to give sewing and creating things for their own kiddos a try. I have always seen posts and pins and tutorials that other people have made that I thought, ‘Well that’s too complicated, I could never do that for myself’, but in the end I finally have!

She is so happy!

She is so happy!

If, for some reason, you would like help, have questions or would like me to sew one of these up for your little one, send me a message or e-mail me. Don’t be afraid to ask questions. You can do it!!

And to finish off the post, some random pictures of my little superhero and her other sidekick! 🙂

Up, up, and away!

Up, up, and away!

To the rescue!

To the rescue!

Ready for action!

Ready for action!

Supergirl and her sidekick, The Cubster!

Supergirl and her sidekick, The Cubster!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

