Skip to content

Three new cakes….(but you only get to see two!)

June 29, 2010

Morning.

It’s been a long time since I’ve posted! Life has been very very busy!

Today I’ve got two new cakes to show you. The third I’m posting tomorrow. I was up late making these, so just remember that when you see them.

They turned out alright, I think. I was proud of my buttercream work even though it melted just a little bit.

Before I show you these pictures, I just want everyone to promise me that they won’t send these pictures into Cake Wrecks? Promise? Ok.

The star cake is a white cake (tastes very good 🙂  ) with a lemon filling and buttercream icing. I made it for our cousin Erica. She is throwing a baby shower tomorrow with a “Twinkle, Twinkle Little Star” theme.

The small blue cake is a peanut butter cake (DELICIOUS) filled with chocolate ganache and iced with chocolate buttercream. It is decorated with marshmallow fondant.

The small cake is going to be sold at the Okfuskee County Republicans pie auction and candidate forum tonight. If I didn’t think that everything was going to sell for a lot I would try to buy it myself just so I could eat it. I tried a little of the trimming and some ganache last night and it was fantastic.

I made another small cake topped with white fondant. It is a red, white and blue cake on the inside, filled with lemon filling and frosted with buttercream. It is decorated with hand made gumpaste roses and small flowers. I think it turned out ok….it was a little lumpy because of the buttercream melting on me as I tried to frost, causing the cake to go a little wonky in the fridge. But we’ll see. I’ll post pictures of it tomorrow 🙂

And most importantly a big shout out to the POWELLS! We’re so excited for the new arrival. I was going to give a shout out the baby directly now that we have a name, ect. but I didn’t want to ruin the surprise for anyone who might not know yet!!

We’re so excited for you guys and the little cousins are going to have so much fun together! Love you guys 😀

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

