Skip to content

More Cakes! :)

May 26, 2010

Wow, it’s been about a month since I’ve posted! Life has been happening people and I still haven’t caught up with it yet!

The Bug is 9 months today! I just can’t believe it. My little baby is almost walking now…it’s been kind of hard to deal with her growing so fast!

The Husband has been gone during the week and coming home for a day and a half to 2 days each weekend for two months now. It’s been hard not seeing him everyday and just getting to talk to him over the phone. I know that he’s had a terrible time being away from Bug. She changes so much while he’s gone!

I also made two cakes this past weekend for one of my co-worker’s granddaughter’s 8th birthday party. They really loved the cakes I think. She sent me a nice e-mail that made me feel great about the work I did and that they enjoyed the cakes so much:

Good morning! I was too busy to contact you yesterday. Cakes were terrific! T loved them both and several people asked who made them. T was fascinated by the chocolate art and wants me to learn to make chocolate boots and horses. The details were awesome. Thank again, S PS. Miss you being here.

Wasn’t that nice of her? I was so excited to have the opportunity to make them for her. So I suppose now I’ll show you the pictures.

Now remember, these aren’t the most fantastic pictures of these cakes. The chocolate one looks a mess in several of these, but in real life they looked pretty good! haha

Also, the bandana cake looks orange in these photos, but it was actually red. I don’t know if anyone knows this, but it is HARD to use food coloring to make WHITE buttercream RED! haha

The horses, coyotes, cowboy boots, and Taylor’s name on the chocolate cake are made of hand-piped white and milk chocolates. Apparently they were Taylor’s favorite part. This was my first time experimenting with melting chocolate and then piping it into different shapes, but I think they turned out ok, and I figured if they could do it on TV I could too!

I’d love to know what everyone thinks about these, so please feel free to leave any questions or comments for me! 🙂

OH! And I completely forgot to post the pictures of the fantastic cupcakes that The Bug’s big cousin K made a few weekends ago at Grammy Aunt’s!

K's fantabulous Cookies N' Cream cupcakes!

There were like a gazillion of them. They were all equally pretty and delicious!!

Don’t these look fantastic? K decorated them all too. She did an awesome job and they tasted just as good as they looked!!!!

We got to spend our day at Grammy Aunt’s with Bug’s big cousins K and KV (she loves them soooo much!), her E, Uncle G, Grammy Aunt and Uncle Bill. It was a wonderful Saturday filled with great cooking, lots of sweets and some great family time!

We’re really looking forward to this coming weekend when we’ll get to see all of them again for the Palmer dinner. I know Bug can’t wait to play with her cousins and I can’t wait to see everyone!!!

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 26, 2010 7:54 pm

    These cakes look amazing!!! Great job girl!! And, we can’t wait to see you and Katie this weekend!!!

Leave a Reply

