Skip to content

Fun with Fondant!

January 19, 2010

A.K.A. Fuggedaboutit!

This weekend I got myself a new hobby (like I really needed a new one! haha) I decided that I was going to start making things with fondant. Now, Janette asked me if I’m the new cake boss and I have to say, you know what, maybe I am? (haha It’s my favorite show too, Janette! We watch it all the time!)

I’m going to post some pictures of the little critters I made this weekend. They have their share of flaws, but for being my first try, you’ll have to admit that they turned out pretty well. (Is it well or good? I can never remember and I sat here for about 10 minutes trying to decide which to use. You can tell I got my degree in communications, right?)

I’m going to have to experiment with different types of fondant to have them turn out just like I want. At the moment, the fondant becomes too pliable to really hold it’s shape, which since all of these critters have arms and legs, becomes a slight problem. I think the I just made the fondant too moist, but I’m not sure. I’m going to experiment with some store bought fondant next so I can see what I did wrong.

Anyway, my next goal is to make a cake covered in fondant (not store bought, of course because it would be icky) complete with toppers. My sister has requested her name and I might try it first. However, I don’t know that she’ll get to eat it herself since she lives 5 hours away.

So, like I asked everyone earlier on Facebook, any particular requests that you’d like me to try for toppers? Once I move on to cakes I might even start working on requests for those (for actual events, of course, if anyone wants them). If no one requests anything I’ll go with my plan of the usual kiddy stuff, Cars (the movie), Disney characters of all kinds, Transformers (for Gaige! ^_^), My Little Ponies, ect. That way I can make The Bug’s birthday cakes and be prepared for whatever she throws at me! haha

So, for your viewing pleasure, I present Cow, Horse and Little Farmer!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. tpphotography permalink
    January 22, 2010 10:16 pm

    You would say they turned out good. When you talk about someone’s health you say well. 🙂 And, GREAT JOB!!! You should really post me some more pics of that beautiful little girl of yours!! 🙂

    I am making a tutu for her next photo shoot.. Which, if she is getting big enough to roll over she should be getting big enough to sit up on her own and then we can do some SUPER CUTE pics with bows and tutus!!!!

    • westtexaswoman permalink*
      January 25, 2010 6:57 pm

      Thank you. I can never remember the whole good and well thing; normally Matt is more than happy to tell me, but I didn’t have him here! haha

      I need to take more pictures. I’m thinking she’s getting teeth so soon I should be able to take pictures of Katie+TEETH! 🙂

      And that will be SUPER cute!!!! I can’t wait for more fun pictures! You’ll have a ball with her the next time you get to see her. We’re planning on coming the last weekend of February so Matt can sell his horse(I think it’s that weekend).

Leave a Reply

