Skip to content

A New Bow … and Spit-Up, Lots of Spit-Up

November 16, 2009

Happy Monday Everyone!

This weekend was a ton of fun for a few reasons: 1) We took The Bug to her first rodeo ever, 2) the Husband bought himself his Christmas/birthday (his birthday is tomorrow) and 3) he bought me my Christmas/birthday present!

We were so excited to take Bug to her very first rodeo, however, she really didn’t seem to enjoy it too terribly much. The Husband and I seemed to forget that she is only just 2 1/2 months old and not really ready to be carried through large crowds and suffer listening to loud rodeo announcers combined with loud music while she tries to drink a bottle. I felt extremely guilty when the Husband pointed out how unhappy she looked; definitely not my proudest moment!

Spur Strap Buckles Made For Joe Cox

The Husband and I still were able to enjoy ourselves though. He was able to finally go to the WCRA Championships and buy stuff, which he has wanted to do for the last three years we’ve gone, but have never been able to afford. He had a lot of fun, bought lots of cowboy manly-tough stuff and we got to talk about what we’re going to do when we move back to Oklahoma. Lots of fun 🙂

When we got to our hotel that night, poor Bug had reached her limit. Her tummy hurt and she was stressed and worn out. We all got ready for bed, fed her a bottle and went to sleep. At 3 a.m. when it was time for her next bottle, I woke up and fixed it and was feeding her. She seemed really uncomfortable and fussy, but finished eating anyway. I picked her up to burp her and she did, and as I was about to lay her back down, she spit up everywhere.

Now when I say everywhere, I mean it. It was projectile and had to have been everything she’d eaten for the last few meals, so it was on me, on the bed, all over her….everywhere!! However, once she was done, she smiled at me and seemed like she felt a lot better. I went and took a shower and the Husband put her back down.

We spent the next day doing more fun things: horse sale, trade show, the Budwiser Clydesdales (The Bug loved them!), and Gander Mtn. to buy my compound bow, arrows and target.

Bug remained pretty fussy for the rest of the day. When we got home, she seemed more relaxed and happy. I had fed her and had just burped her and was giving her kisses on the cheek. The Husband saw what I was doing and came over to give her a kiss. He picked her up and gave her a kiss on the mouth. When he did, she spit up.

Similac Sensitive Formula

Similac sensitive formula. We will never use another formula with Katie again!

That’s right folks, The Bug spit up right in his mouth. He handed her to me with a look of shock on his face; he almost looked like he was going to laugh. I couldn’t help myself, and even though I had been trying to hold it in, I burst out laughing.

On Sunday Bug and I just stayed at the house; she was still a little cranky from our trip. We had a wonderful morning. We read from her kids bible and sang Jesus Loves Me and Jesus Loves the Little Children. We also watched Spongebob Squarepants (she loves it, she talks to the screen when it’s on) and when the Husband got home football (she also loves football…she talks and laughs the whole time it’s on!).

I spent about an hour and a half outside shooting my new bow while Bug napped and the Husband watched her. It was a lot of fun. My aim is actually pretty good for someone who has never shot one before! haha I got to shoot my pumpkins from Halloween full of holes while the wind blew about 40 mph and the temperature dropped down to 35!

My new compound bow. I really love it. I have such a wonderful husband!

In the evening I decided that I’d make some soup since vegetables are fat free and I’ve been on a no-fat diet since last week. It was delicious and even better, deliciously simple. Took a whole 30 seconds to get ready and then about 15 to heat. I thought I’d share the recipe (if you could call it that) that I made up myself 🙂

Easy Peasy Veggie Soup

  • 2 cans Hunt’s tomato sauce (can be Roasted Garlic if you prefer)
  • 1 can Hunt’s tomato paste
  • 2 cups warm water
  • 1 can Ranch Style black eyed peas
  • 1 can diced new potatoes
  • 1 can sliced carrots
  • 1 can green beans (I accidentally used french cut, but they were still good)
  • 1 can stewed tomatoes

You simply throw all of the above ingredients in a stew pot (you can mix and match your veggies how you like, adding more or using less than I did, depeding on how big your pot is), pouring the complete contents of each can in and adding two cans of water. You then stir thoroughly and heat to boiling and then simmer for a few minutes. It is delicious and best of all FAT FREE!

If you prefer your soup with meat you can brown hamburger meat in the bottom of the pot before adding all other ingredients, leaving the meat and the grease in it. Definitely fat in there, but still super easy!

Anyway, I hope everyone has a wonderful Monday. Tomorrow I go to see the surgeon for my gallbladder, so I’ll definitely let everyone know how it goes!

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

