Skip to content

Ah, Onion Soup…It had better be good ‘Cause it took me 5 hours!!

October 26, 2009

Yesterday afternoon, the Husband expressed his desire to have onion soup, his very favorite soup in the whole world. So, I told him I would look up a recipe and make some for him, because I was thinking, “How hard can it be? It’s just onions!”

Wrong. And really to say it was hard is not right. It was not hard to make but it did take a very long time to make. A very simple recipe that basically calls for lots of broth and lots of onions. And voila!, a burnt thumb and 4 1/2 hours later the Husband and I had a delicious bowl of french onion soup.

If anyone is interested I will definitely share the recipe I used because the soup turned out to be WONDERFUL; but you just have to know that you will need to take a whole afternoon (or in our case, evening…I finished the soup at 11 after starting at 6:30) to finish. I took some pictures because I thought it would be fun to show how it all went together, especially since we put so many tears (from the onions) into it and suffered some pain (I’m such a klutz…who accidentally puts their thumb on the handle of a HOT cast iron skillet?). Hope it doesn’t make you too hungry! haha

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

