Skip to content

Slaughter the fattened calf…the Prodigal One has returned!!!!

October 19, 2009

That’s is actually what my boss said to me when I answered the phone at work first thing Friday morning. Not even kidding. So, I thought this would be a fitting title for my return to blogging. I’ve been thinking up lots of fun things to write about while on maternity leave with, of course, my daughter, The Bug, being the main one.

Parenthood definitely opens up new perspectives on life, but without argument it definitely makes life so much better. There are so many cool things that the Husband and I have experienced in the past weeks that I’ll never forget.

The Husband’s outright excitement when my water broke (while all I could say was, “I’m all wet…this is gross” over and over). Then the pain I could see on his face when he watched me labor and cry.

The look on the Husband’s face when he first saw our daughter. I will never forget that. The first time he held her. Or the first time he came home and said, “She is the most adoreable thing I’ve ever seen.”

The first time The Bug smiled at me. I cried. It was the most wonderful thing I think I’ve ever experienced.

Every time I look at Bug, I am reminded about how much I love my husband and that we have created someone special and beautiful together.

All of this goes back to what Tosha added to my favorite photo, “All because two people fell in love.”

All in all life these past weeks has been wonderful. And really they must have been for me to remember all of the wonderful things that I’ve just written about and ignored to mention the terrible labor pains (they turned off my epidural…wasn’t very nice), long nights, colic fits, dirty clothes, ect! haha

And although I was sad to take The Bug to daycare, I’m actually really glad that I did because now the time I get to spend with her will be that much more special. I won’t be anxiously waiting for the Husband to come home so that I can run to the bathroom or fold some laundry.

Anyway, I just read back over all that and saw that I really turned on the sappiness! Sorry everyone! haha But needless to say I’ll have lots of fun things to talk about in the days to come! For now I’ve included some new photos of Bug for everyone to see.

Until next time!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kendra permalink
    October 20, 2009 12:21 am

    Awwww! She is so precious! Can I just say I loved this and I totally get the husband excitment about the water breaking! Haha! Can’t wait to see you guys!

    • westtexaswoman permalink*
      October 20, 2009 7:58 pm

      Thanks! I can’t wait to see you or little Tucker! Hurry up mamma!!!!!

Leave a Reply

