Skip to content

G.O.V.E.R.N.

August 6, 2009

This morning I discovered that what I really want to do when I grow up is to be the person in charge of coming up with cool little acronyms for different bills that are passed. Take for instance the “Cash for Clunkers Program” that is officially called C.A.R.S. Any guesses to what it stands for? Let me show you:

Car

Allowance

Rebate

System

How cool is that? I love acronyms that actually spell something. When I lived at home there was a show on the Cartoon Network called Codename: Kids Next Door. On the show a group of pre-teen “secret agents” worked to stop adults from doing various things to children in town and every episode was named with an acronym that told you what the episode was about. Now I never watched the show myself, but I had seen the opening credits and always marveled at how every single episode had it’s own acronym thad kind of made sense. Here’s an example:

Operation: P.I.R.A.T.E.

Pirates

Invade

Repository

And

Treats

Extracted

The episode was about a group of candy pirates that invade the kid’s headquarters and steal all of their candy stashes. Funny huh?

Granted, at the moment I haven’t fully developed my acronyming skills yet, so I’m not quite ready to be making up things like the government C.A.R.S. or Operation: P.I.R.A.T.E.. but I’m working on it. For instance the title of this post stands for:

Government’s

Only

Venture

Eventually

Revolutionizes

Naming

I thought it worked pretty well…well kind of. Could be a lot better, but I’m new at this. I challenge anyone to come up with their own acronyms and post them; it’s fun, and what else do you have to do? haha

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

