Skip to content

No Malkin?? No Way!

July 21, 2009

Good Morning everyone!

I’m not being very good about updating this, am I? I swore that I wouldn’t fall off and stop posting completely, so I’m working on that 🙂

As usual, there’s not really a lot going on in our little world here. But I did have another, “I’m having a baby right now??” scare this week. The closer I get to the due date, the more paranoid I get, because the baby doesn’t seem to be cooperating!

Yesterday morning I called my Dr. because I was afraid I was leaking amniotic fluid. Why I made the decision to call is a long story that I won’t go into, but in our first childbirth class last week we discussed what leakage would be like.

Turns out it’s not (normally) like the movies where the girl is sitting somewhere in public and then all of a sudden cries, “My water just broke!!” (I always think about that scene from the movie High School High with John Lovitz, with the white trash girl that already has like 3 kids whose water breaks while she’s sitting in Lovitz’s class; it’s been a long time since I’ve seen that movie! Definitely not that great, but I do like Jon Lovitz.)

Turns out leakage can happen different ways. If you have a high break (a break higher up in your uterus) it probably means that instead of just gushing fluid, you’ll have a continuous trickle that can stop based on your position and where baby’s head is concerning the cervix. If you have a low break, you’re more likely to start gushing.  

I know that everyone woke up this morning thinking, “Man, I’ve always wondered about leaking amniotic fluid!!” And all I have to say is, you’re welcome 🙂

So anyway, yesterday morning I decided I needed to go to the Dr. This was a very unnerving experience for me. For the first time, I was faced with the fact that I will actually go into labor and I will actually have to do all of those things the husband and I have talked about for months (lots of scary ideas like pain management, delivery decisions, episiotomies, I could go on, but would just freak myself out more! haha) and I’ll admit that I was a little freaked out.

The husband really is my support base; as silly as we both are most of the time, he is normally the one who keeps a level head and thinks rationally; however, he wasn’t at the Dr. with me.

So, I just hung out thinking about what actually happens when you go into labor, while waiting for my Dr. in that stupid sheet they make you wear. (This is the husband’s favorite part of the labor stuff, “They won’t let you put your pants back on, haha!” He’s so rediculous.)

The first thing our childbirth teacher emphasized is that being afraid and unprepared for the childbirth process actually makes labor more painful, because humans’ greatest fear is of the unknown. This is a good way to start off the class, letting students know that there will be pain, but being prepared for the labor process will ease discomfort and help them to be in control of the situation.

Again, great way to start the class; especially if you are sure that your students aren’t going to have any weird or emergency moments come up before the next one.

But, as I sat there, I knew I definitely wasn’t prepared yet (I’ve only been to 1 childbirth class…we only covered amniotic fluid and how to count contractions!!!!), so that just added to my hysteria! haha

Anyway, the Dr. finally came in to see me and after a little bit of checking, there was no leakage. I can’t begin to explain what a relief this was. I had freaked out like I swore I wasn’t going to and it really made me realize how much I need the husband’s support! (I’m married to such a great guy!! … And he totally pays more attention to baby stuff than I do…he was paying great attention in class and he’s read more of the baby book than me! haha)

Seems like a long post today, I don’t know. It was just crazy because I have been so confident that I could handle childbirth no problem, mostly because the husband has told me I can, and I almost fell to pieces. This is the part that makes the least sense to me, so I don’t know if I can explain, but having your husband tell you that he has complete faith that you will be great, that you’ll make labor look easy, even though he has no idea what childbirth will be like, gives you this great sense of confidence.

My favorite part is that he has no idea what it will be like! (And I believe what he says anyway!) haha

Many of you are also probably wondering why the title of this post is “No Malkin?? No Way!”. Michelle Malkin is my all time favorite blogger and her Web site is down today. Normally right now I’m on her site catching up on what’s happening, but I can’t do that. It’s probably for the best because it sends me into a crazy politically fueled rage! haha You guys should check her out sometime. I don’t always agree with her, but most of the time she’s right on the money.

Anyway, hope everyone is having a great week!

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 21, 2009 9:04 pm

    I think Katie should just come on!!! 😉

Leave a Reply

