Skip to content

It’s Hump Day…but I have Crystal to get me through it!

July 15, 2009

http://brands.kraftfoods.com/CrystalLight/home1.htm

So, I’m guessing by now that everyone has heard I was in the ER on Sunday. No worries! Everyone is doing great and wiggling again! haha For those of you who don’t know, here is a brief over view:

I had experienced a small amount of bleeding on Sunday morning right before I was ready to leave for my Dalhart baby shower; I had also noticed Katie wasn’t really moving. The husband and I agreed that I should go ahead and go to the shower.

I had decided that after the shower, if I still saw blood and Katie wasn’t moving to go to the hospital. Easier said than done of course; I was worried we’d be making the trip for nothing. After much deliberation and talking to my big brother, Gerrod, who is about to finish nursing school, we went.

We showed up at the ER, got hooked up to the fetal monitor right away and answered all of the nurse’s and Dr’s questions. After being monitored for a little while, he told me Katie was fine, but not moving like she should and that I was having contractions that were 7 to 8 minutes apart. I couldn’t feel any of the contractions.

He said that they were going to try to have them stop by giving me a ton of IV fluids, saying that it is normal for pregnant women in the summer to have contractions because they are a little dehydrated. The fluids didn’t work so they gave me a shot of trebuterol to stop them. It worked. (However we still had to wait almost 2 hours without seeing anyone b/c a little kid with a broken arm came in; the husband was not impressed! haha)

He did tell us that he would like for Katie to stay snug in there for at least another 2 weeks (37 weeks) before she was officially allowed to arrive. He also said that if she was delivered before then there was a 90% chance that she would come out perfectly healthy with no complications.

We were given orders to have a biophysical profile done and then released to go home, the Dr. telling me that if I had any more contractions to come back…(Once again, I didn’t feel any of the contractions! haha Soooooo….)

Tuesday we had our biophysical profile. Katie did really great. The technician said that she passed with flying colors and looked wonderful. The husband and I both felt better by the time we left. I go to see my Dr. tomorrow morning so we’ll see what he has to say about everything.

Last night we went to our first baby class. Learned lots of interesting things; thankfully we haven’t seen any actual birth footage yet. That is definitely the part I’ve been dreading even though the husband tries to make me watch that kind of stuff at home all the time! haha

We also went to WalMart to stock the coffers. I’m officially addicted to Crystal Light, so I was able to get some more of those and some more bottled water. When you’re on a gestational diabetes diet and can’t have sweet drinks, they really hit the spot! Everyone should definitely try them. The husband refuses, saying they look gross, but how does colored water look gross?? Especially coming from someone who dips? haha

We’re trying to get everything finished for the big arrival date which is now a little in question. I’ve almost got our hospital bag packed (I’ve still got a few things like Katie’s bag to finish, finding the appropriate granny underwear, and deciding about a nightgown or robe left to do) We have almost everything we need and are just waiting! ^_^

Like the husband said last night, “Everything is just a waiting game for us, isn’t it?”

4 Comments leave one →
  1. tpphotography permalink
    July 15, 2009 3:52 pm

    So does that mean Aunt Toshie needs to get her backs packed and ready too?? I’m about half certain I won’t be able to wait til Sept. 5 to come see you guys!!! lol Pretty sure I might have to come down when I hear the stork has landed!!

    • westtexaswoman permalink*
      July 15, 2009 4:00 pm

      lol Don’t know yet. I go to see my Dr. tomorrow and we’ll see what he thinks. The ER Dr. said as long as she waits 2 weeks she can come whenever she wants! haha We’d be happy for you to come any time you wanted to; you know that!

  2. July 17, 2009 4:52 am

    Great Aunt Cindy would be also happy to pack her bags and come there, but I’m thinkin’ I might be pushed out of the way by the Grandmas, the aunties, the uncles, the cousins, etc.

    So just know, that Steve and I are sitting here…biding our time until we get to love on Katie!

    Seriously, take really, really good care of yourself. Matt and you and that baby girl are precious!

    • westtexaswoman permalink*
      July 17, 2009 7:04 pm

      if the birthing rooms are as small as the er was, you’re right! lol we would love for you to come, because you know you’re always welcome, but we’re hoping to make a trip to ok while i’m on maternity leave to visit the family and my grandparents down in north texas. i guess when we come all depends on when katie gets here, but i can’t wait to show her off!!

Leave a Reply

