Skip to content

Finally Friday

June 26, 2009

Well folks, it’s finally Friday! It’s been a long, hot week here in Dalhart and I’m glad that it’s almost over. There are several things I want to point out today:

1. I’m bummed because my baby bedding won’t be here until August! But it’s okay because I think everything but the comforter, bumper, ruffle will be here in a week or two.

2. I am SO SICK of hearing about Michael Jackson and Farrah Fawcett passing away yesterday. Don’t get me wrong, I hate Farrah had such a terrible battle with cancer, but at least now she is at peace; and as far as MJ goes, my brother and I lived to MJ when we were little, but he definitely was a pedophile and he had some serious mental issues.

3. What I am more interested in, is hearing more about the Cap and Trade bill that is going through the House today. It has the potential to create a lot of cost for us citizens to combat ‘global climate change.’

Now I believe in climate change, it’s natural, it’s cyclical; however, I don’t believe it’s the huge crisis, killing all of the penguins so the polar bears will have nothing to eat, situation that everyone is making it out to be(I was joking about the penguins and polar bears, they live two different places).

Is it a good thing to become less dependent on foreign oil? YES (http://www.nber.org/feldstein/oildependenceaea2003.pdf)   He makes the point that limiting oil consumption in vehicles and homes is not going to make a big impact; industry uses the vast majority of the oil here in the country.

Is it a good thing to create a huge program to help work with energy sources that right now have to be heavily subsidized to keep them from being complete wastes of money or from going under? I’m not so sure. (http://www.namastesolar.com/amendment.htm)

I’m interested to see where all of this goes and how it will effect the American people. What do you think?

A couple more links:

http://www.heritage.org/Research/EnergyandEnvironment/tst062609a.cfm

http://www.bloomberg.com/apps/news?pid=20601109&sid=a1ZiIqv3E4QE

http://www.register-herald.com/local/local_story_176222312.html

http://www.snopes.com/politics/bush/house.asp  (this one is just for fun)

** I’m really sorry about the rant, I had promised myself that I wouldn’t get into anything political or anything that makes me crazy, but sometimes it just gets to be too much! haha **

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Gina Speir permalink
    June 28, 2009 12:58 am

    Callie, I have so enjoyed your blog and your wonderful pictures of the baby. When I read that you were interested in the the Tax and Cap I could not be more proud. Sadly, It will be the most devastating bill of my life time and I’m glad that you are taking an interest. I just got finished with a great book from Mark R. Levin (The Great One) called Liberty and Tyranny. Check it out sometime. Now if only I could get your mother-in-law to join me in my conservative movement. It’s not to late on the bill. I urge you to get online and find your Senators numbers and call this weekend and let them know how you feel. They represent you! Oh my goodness, talk about a rant. Politics get me going sometimes. Oh who am I kidding, all the time. Love your blog. Gina Speir

    • westtexaswoman permalink*
      June 29, 2009 1:28 pm

      I am glad that someone else knows what I was ranting about! haha Poor Matt has to hear it every night, but he knows it’s a really bad deal too. We watch FOX News pretty much every evening when we get off work and it keeps us pretty up to speed (sometimes I get really annoyed with them, like on Friday; I was so TIRED of hearing about Michael Jackson when we should have been hearing about the vote on this bill!). I’ve heard about that book; we’ll have to get a copy, I know Matt will like it too. He’s the one that got me started on reading Bill O’Reilly and some a couple of other books during the election! I’ve contacted my Senators and let them know what I think. I am constantly threatening John Cornyn that if he votes for this or that, that my whole family will not vote for him in the next election. haha (I keep my mother informed of what’s going on) But our other Sentaor is Kay Bailey Hutchinson and she might as well be a democrat the way she votes on most issues; she’s running for Gov. in Texas this year, I will not be voting for her!

      It sounds like when we finally move back to Oklahoma that I’m going to have to joine your conservative movement and I’ll drag Margaret along too! haha Also, do you ever read Michelle Malkin? I read her blog every day and she talks about stuff that you just won’t hear anywhere else! Here’s a link:

      http://michellemalkin.com/

  2. Gina Speir permalink
    July 2, 2009 1:42 am

    I love Michelle! She is such a straight talker but I’ve never checked her site out. Thanks, I’ll look at it tonight.

    • westtexaswoman permalink*
      July 2, 2009 7:54 pm

      I love her. She puts up lots of things that keep me updated (and sometimes pretty mad! haha). The commenters are usually pretty good too, bringing up points or links that really shed light on things.

Leave a Reply

